India & South Asia Microbiology and Infectious Disease report (ISAMID) 01/11/2026

This post is for educational and professional awareness purposes only. It does not constitute clinical advice. Readers should refer to the national health authority guidance for operational decisions.

India & South Asia Microbiology and Infectious Disease report (ISAMID) 01/11/2026

India & South AsiaMicrobiology & Infectious Disease

A broad-capture synthesis of public-health signals, AMR developments, outbreak intelligence and institutional activity across India and the South Asian region.

This report draws on public discussion on X.com, cross-checked against official, peer-reviewed and media sources. Non-X sources are labelled as such.

PERIOD 26 OCT – 1 NOV 2026WEEK 44, 2026SOURCE OPEN X / SOCIAL INTELLIGENCE + OFFICIAL, JOURNAL AND MEDIA CROSS-CHECKSFORMAT WEEKLY

Caveat: this reflects what was publicly reported or discussed in the window. If something was not discussed, that does not mean it did not happen. Dates are UK time (GMT) unless a source gives local time. Figures are as reported by the cited source, and differences between sources are flagged rather than reconciled. No clinical advice is given.

Overview

X coverage this week:

a full search of public posts on X (35 searches: 33 post searches returning about 700 posts, plus 2 news-story searches) in English, Hindi, Marathi, Bengali, Tamil, Malayalam, Urdu, Nepali, Telugu, Kannada, Odia and Sinhala. There were no failed searches. Malayalam returned substantial discussion for the first time in several weeks (the Nipah remdesivir controversy). Hindi searches for measles (खसरा) returned mostly land-record posts, and Northeast India searches returned mostly unrelated political content. Automated AI-generated replies were not used as sources.

Snapshot (top line)

  1. Bangladesh measles: DGHS combined toll NEW at 1,254 deaths (1,149 suspected + 105 confirmed) to 1 November; suspected cases 230,013, confirmed 23,935. Previous issue: 1,227 / 221,164 / 23,400. BSS · Dhaka Tribune
  2. Bangladesh dengue: deaths NEW at 418 and admissions above 133,000 to 30 October (Reuters); October alone had 173 deaths against 148 in September. Previous issue: 384 / 123,948. ThePrint (Reuters)
  3. Pakistan: an eighth WPV1 case of 2026 (NEW, was seven) in a 13-month-old girl from Bara, Khyber district, KP. Separately, Sindh reports 115 mpox cases and 12 deaths in 2026 (NEW), including a Karachi child infected after circumcision at a hospital that has since been sealed; KP reports 18 cases. Dawn · Zaviya
  4. Kerala, Nipah treatment row (NEW): the Health Minister told the Assembly on 29 October that remdesivir which expired in May 2023 may have been given to Nipah patients at Kozhikode Medical College up to 2025; a medical board is examining this. A senior clinician says none of the six patients who died received remdesivir. The Hindu · TNIE
  5. Kerala state sheet (first retrieved since 16 Oct): measles 706 confirmed cases and 1 death (NEW, was 588); amoebic meningoencephalitis 184 / 45 (UNCHANGED); leptospirosis 2,455 confirmed / 123 deaths, to 31 October. Kerala DHS, 31 Oct PDF
  6. Dengue in India: West Bengal 12,889 cases and 15 deaths (NEW); Delhi 993 to 24 Oct (NEW, was 901); Pune sends eight suspected dengue deaths for state audit (NEW); Tamil Nadu UNCHANGED at 25,481 / 10. Asianet News Bangla · News18 (PTI) · Hindustan Times
  7. Nepal and Sri Lanka: Nepal scrub typhus 11,643 cases from 74 districts (NEW, was 10,210). Sri Lanka dengue 105,295 cases and 81 deaths (NEW, was 104,094 / 79). Nepal Manch (Nepali) · Virakesari (Tamil)
  8. Regulation and world: India’s Patent Office rejected TB Alliance’s patent application covering the BPaL regimen (reported 28 October; NEW). DR Congo Bundibugyo Ebola has reached 10,274 cases and 4,992 deaths (ECDC, 29 Oct; NEW, was 9,704 / 4,687). The Hindu · ECDC

Activity signal by topic this week

High

Dengue, post-monsoon

Bangladesh; West Bengal; Delhi; Pune; Tamil Nadu; Uttar Pradesh; Sri Lanka; Nepal; Pakistan Punjab

Evidence type: Official (via media)MediaBengali, Hindi, Marathi, Tamil, Sinhala and Urdu X

Moderate–high

Measles

Bangladesh national; Kerala (state sheet); Maldives (zero new cases)

Evidence type: Official (via media)Official state PDFBengali and English X

Moderate–high

Nipah treatment controversy (expired remdesivir allegation)

Kerala (Kozhikode)

Evidence type: Official (Assembly reply, via media)MediaMalayalam and English X

Moderate

Mpox, including a possible healthcare-associated cluster

Pakistan (Sindh, Karachi; Khyber Pakhtunkhwa)

Evidence type: Media (provincial health officials)Urdu and English X

Moderate

Scrub typhus

Nepal (national); Rajasthan; Kerala (state sheet)

Evidence type: Official (EDCD, via media)MediaNepali and Hindi X

Low–moderate

WPV1 and the 2–8 November campaign

Pakistan (Bara, Khyber); Afghanistan

Evidence type: Official (NEOC, via media)EMR polio bulletin

Low–moderate

TB: BPaL patent rejection; CBNAAT capacity

India national; Rajasthan (Bhilwara)

Evidence type: Official (Patent Office decision, via media)Hindi X

Low

AMR literature (CRAB VAP regimens, mCIM/eCIM in NDM + OXA-48-like co-producers, MCR meta-analysis)

India; Pakistan; Bangladesh

Evidence type: Peer-reviewedclinician X

Low

Hospital IPC drives (Special Campaign 6.0, Kayakalp)

AIIMS Bathinda, Patna, Guwahati, Kalyani

Evidence type: Institutional X

Isolated

Infant deaths attributed provisionally to asphyxiation

Madhya Pradesh (Balaghat, Birsa block)

Evidence type: Media (CMHO quoted)

Notable gap

NCDC week 35; Sri Lanka NDCU daily PDFs (unreachable); new H5N1 findings after Vandalur; Candida auris or HAI clusters on X; cholera confirmations

Not found in window

Evidence type: None

00 Carried over: ongoing stories

These stories were already being followed before this week. The table shows what changed since the figures reported on 25 Oct. NEW marks a changed figure. UNCHANGED means no newer figure was found. Three stories close this week because nothing further was reported.

StoryRegionFirst seenLatest (vs 25 Oct)StatusLink
Bangladesh national measles outbreakBangladesh3 OctDeaths 1,254 (NEW, was 1,227); suspected 230,013; confirmed 23,935Open, updatedBSS
Bangladesh dengueBangladesh3 OctDeaths 418 to 30 Oct (NEW, was 384); admissions >133,000Open, updatedThePrint (Reuters)
Pakistan WPV1, 2026Pakistan3 OctCases 8 (NEW, was 7); Bara, KhyberOpen, updatedDawn
Pakistan mpox (clade Ib literature item last week)Pakistan · Sindh, KP25 OctNEW Sindh 115 cases / 12 deaths in 2026; Karachi post-circumcision case; KP 18Open, escalated from watchZaviya
Kerala measlesIndia · Kerala3 OctState 706 confirmed / 1 death (NEW, was 588 on the 16 Oct sheet); 190 confirmed in OctoberOpen, updatedKerala DHS, 31 Oct PDF
Kerala amoebic meningoencephalitisIndia · Kerala18 OctState 184 / 45 (UNCHANGED, confirmed on the 31 Oct sheet); 7 cases and 1 death in OctoberOpenKerala DHS, 31 Oct PDF
Kerala NipahIndia · Kerala3 OctNo new case (1 in 2026, UNCHANGED); NEW expired-remdesivir allegation and medical board probeWatching, updatedThe Hindu
Tamil Nadu dengueIndia · Tamil Nadu3 Oct25,481 / 10 (UNCHANGED); minister says “under control”OpenDinamani (Tamil)
West Bengal dengueIndia · West Bengal25 Oct12,889 cases / 15 deaths (NEW; first statewide cumulative seen in media); 5,751 in 1–24 OctOpen, updatedAsianet News Bangla
Delhi dengueIndia · Delhi18 Oct993 to 24 Oct (NEW, was 901 to 17 Oct); no deathsOpen, updatedNews18 (PTI)
Pune dengueIndia · Maharashtra25 OctCases 2,413 (UNCHANGED); NEW eight suspected deaths sent for state auditOpen, updatedHindustan Times
Rajasthan scrub typhusIndia · Rajasthan11 OctState 2,234 (UNCHANGED); DD News cites 450 scrub typhus cases (scope unclear)OpenDDNewsRajasthan
Balaghat child deathsIndia · Madhya Pradesh3 OctOfficial toll 32 (UNCHANGED); local MLA claims 55; CMHO attributes the three latest infant deaths provisionally to asphyxiationOpen, updatedTimes of India
Nepal scrub typhusNepal3 OctNational 11,643 from 74 districts (NEW, was 10,210); national deaths not given in the source seenOpen, updatedNepal Manch (Nepali)
Pakistan Punjab denguePakistan · Punjab3 OctProvince 270 (UNCHANGED); Rawalpindi 84 (NEW, was 70)Open, updatedZaviya
Sindh malariaPakistan · Sindh3 Oct117,016 cases 1 Jan–29 Sep (UNCHANGED)OpenDawn
Sri Lanka dengueSri Lanka3 Oct105,295 cases / 81 deaths (NEW, was 104,094 / 79)Open, updatedVirakesari (Tamil)
NCDC/IDSP weekly outbreak reportsIndia · national3 OctStill week 34; week 35 not published (UNCHANGED)WatchingNCDC listing
DGHS ban on reuse of single-use devicesIndia · national25 OctNo new order; directive still being shared on XWatchingIndiaTaj82970
DR Congo Bundibugyo EbolaWorld4 Oct10,274 / 4,992 (ECDC, NEW); WHO DON622 still the latest DONOpen, updatedECDC
Chennai Vandalur H5N1 in zoo birdsIndia · Tamil Nadu25 OctNo further report after the 25 Oct reopeningClosed (no further reporting)The Hindu
Odisha scrub typhus deathsIndia · Odisha25 OctNo new in-window report foundClosed (no further reporting)Times of India
Sri Lanka influenzaSri Lanka18 OctNo newer positivity figure for a second weekClosed (no further reporting)News Center LK

01 Bangladesh: national measles outbreak — deaths NEW at 1,254

Evidence typeOfficial(DGHS, via media)X

Discussion frequency: ModerateStatus: ongoing since 15 March 2026

Location: Bangladesh (nationwide; the two latest deaths were in Moulvibazar and Khagrachhari)

Figures vs 25 Oct

combined deaths 1,254 (NEW, was 1,227); suspected deaths 1,149 (NEW, was 1,123); confirmed deaths 105 (NEW, was 104); suspected cases 230,013 (NEW, was 221,164); confirmed cases 23,935 (NEW, was 23,400).

  • DGHS bulletin, 1 Nov non-X: two further deaths in the 24 hours to 08:00, both suspected; 1,353 new suspected and 64 new confirmed cases. 204,783 people have been admitted since 15 March and 196,183 discharged. BSS · Dhaka Tribune
  • Intermediate tolls on X: 1,249 on 29 Oct (UNB) and 1,252 on 31 Oct. unbnewsroom · mahmudur02
  • X (political, unverified):
    • Accounts contrast officially reported vaccination coverage “exceeding 100%” with hospital data on measles patients (the post is truncated), and allege conflicting figures from two government agencies. albd1971 · riyamenon45q
    • A Bengali post claims child deaths were linked to substandard vaccine and that 27% of children did not develop antibodies. No official or peer-reviewed source for this claim was found. Unverified discussion on X only. Amirul1971

Uncertainties

most deaths are “suspected”, and records cover only hospital attendees. The vaccine-quality and antibody claims are unverified.

Character

evidence-driven official tallies, with a politicised X stream.

02 Bangladesh dengue: deaths NEW at 418; October the deadliest month of 2026

Evidence typeOfficial(health ministry data, via Reuters)Bengali X

Discussion frequency: ModerateStatus: ongoing; experts expect transmission through November

Location: Bangladeshnationwide; Dhaka hospitals under pressure

Figures vs 25 Oct

deaths 418 to 30 Oct (NEW, was 384); admissions >133,000 (NEW, was 123,948). October deaths 173 against 148 in September.

  • Reuters, 31 Oct non-X: 418 deaths and more than 133,000 admissions this year to 30 Oct. October accounted for 173 deaths. Shaheed Suhrawardy Medical College Hospital was treating 279 dengue patients after 67 admissions in a single day. An entomologist expects any decline in November to be modest. ThePrint (Reuters)
  • X (Bengali media), 1 Nov: eight further deaths and 1,929 admissions in 24 hours. NirapadNews · rhbnews24
  • X (Bengali media): Nagorik News gives 174 dengue deaths in October. Tahasin13
  • Literature non-X: a Dhaka case-control study of severe dengue and comorbidities. See Section 13.

Disagreement

October deaths are 173 (Reuters, to 30 Oct) and 174 (Nagorik News, via X); the difference may reflect the 31 Oct figures but this is not confirmed. No cumulative figure after 1 Nov was seen from an official source.

Character

evidence-driven official tallies.

03 Pakistan: eighth WPV1 case (NEW); Punjab dengue

Evidence typeOfficial(NEOC/PPEP, via media)district health officials(via media)Urdu and English X

Discussion frequency: ModerateStatus: ongoing

Location: PakistanKhyber Pakhtunkhwa (Bara, Khyber)Punjab (Rawalpindi, Lahore)Sindh (Karachi)

Figures vs 25 Oct

WPV1 cases 8 (NEW, was 7): six in KP and two in Sindh. Rawalpindi dengue 84 (NEW, was 70); Punjab provincial 270 (UNCHANGED).

  • WPV1, 1 Nov non-X: NEOC confirmed the eighth case of 2026 in a 13-month-old girl from UC Janbaz-B, Bara tehsil, Khyber district. It is the second case from Khyber this year and the sixth from KP. Environmental detections continue in the Peshawar Block. A subnational campaign runs 2–8 November in 97 districts (about 24 million children), synchronised with Afghanistan. Dawn · X: geonews_english (31 cases in 2025) · KarachiPulsePK
  • Bannu: the district administration imposed Section 144 for one week ahead of the campaign, citing security concerns. FarwaZubai64830
  • SSPE: Gavi described more than 100 Pakistani families affected by SSPE connecting through WhatsApp. gavi
  • Dengue, Rawalpindi, 31 Oct non-X: 84 confirmed cases, one in the past 24 hours, seven in hospital and no deaths this year. There were 27 cases in September and 51 in October; 6,382 people have been screened. Zaviya · X: zaviyapk · SAMAATV
  • Karachi malaria (X, unverified): a resident reports hospitals in District West “full of malaria cases” and no fumigation. shahidkhank3609

Disagreement

some X accounts still described the Khyber case as the seventh. DialoguePak

Uncertainties

Sindh malaria is held at 117,016 (1 Jan–29 Sep); no newer provincial figure was found.

04 Pakistan: mpox in Sindh and KP, including possible healthcare-associated cases — NEW

Evidence typeMedia(provincial health officials and SHCC quoted)Urdu and English X

Discussion frequency: ModerateStatus: new as a lead item (escalated from the watch list)

Location: PakistanSindh (Karachi, Malir)Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (Peshawar, Nowshera, Mardan)

Figures: Sindh 115 cases and 12 deaths in 2026; KP 18 cases (Peshawar 5 with 1 death).

  • Karachi, 31 Oct non-X: a three-year-old boy tested positive after circumcision at a Malir hospital (Ibne Hassan Hospital), and doctors said two other recent cases had been circumcised at the same facility. The Sindh Health Care Commission sealed it more than 10 days earlier after inspectors flagged infection-prevention gaps and found a dispenser performing circumcision. SIDH&RC has seven mpox inpatients, including the mother and an aunt of an infant who died of mpox earlier in the week (described as the first infant mpox death in Karachi this year), and 31 cases this year. Zaviya · X: bloom_pakistan · secondopinionpk
  • KP, 27 Oct (X, citing the provincial health department): four new cases in 72 hours, taking the provincial total to 18; Peshawar has five cases and one death. Post4th · DailyTheDestin
  • X (unverified): one account claims mpox can spread via rodents amid Karachi’s garbage problem. No supporting source was found. pakco_updates

Uncertainties

the clade of the Karachi and KP cases was not stated in the sources seen. Last week’s literature item described a clade Ib cluster in Khairpur; whether the current cases belong to it is not known. The KP figure comes from X posts citing the health department, not a bulletin seen directly.

Character

possible healthcare-associated transmission signal (route not confirmed); regulatory action (facility sealed).

05 Kerala: state sheet retrieved — measles NEW at 706; amoebic meningoencephalitis UNCHANGED

Evidence typeOfficial(Kerala DHS daily communicable disease PDF)

Discussion frequency: Low on XStatus: ongoing

Location: IndiaKerala (statewide)

Figures vs 25 Oct (16 Oct sheet)

measles 706 confirmed and 1 death (NEW, was 588), with 1,604 suspected and 2 suspected deaths; 190 confirmed in October; the 30 Oct sheet gave 699. Amoebic meningoencephalitis 184 / 45 (UNCHANGED); October 7 cases and 1 death.

  • Kerala DHS, 31 Oct sheet non-X, cumulative 2026, confirmed cases / deaths (suspected in brackets where given):
    • Dengue 13,164 / 44 (35,314 / 35); leptospirosis 2,455 / 123 (1,451 / 92); hepatitis A 6,493 / 44; influenza 12,055 / 123.
    • Scrub typhus 609 / 13; typhoid 241 / 1; shigellosis 560 / 8; AES 115 / 26; Japanese encephalitis 8 / 4; rabies 17 / 17; West Nile 14 (26 / 4).
    • Mpox 8; Nipah 1; Zika 1; diphtheria 1.
    • Deaths noted on the sheet: a pneumonia death in a three-year-old boy in Thrissur (28 Oct) and a probable leptospirosis death in a 62-year-old man in Kottayam (22 Oct).
    • Kerala DHS, 31 Oct PDF · Kerala DHS, 30 Oct PDF

Uncertainties

the daily sheets for 17–25 Oct were not retrieved, so the measles rise from 588 to 706 spans about two weeks. Sheet categories mix confirmed and suspected counts.

Character

official state data; little X discussion of the figures themselves.

06 Tamil Nadu: dengue UNCHANGED; Vandalur H5N1 story closed

Evidence typeOfficial(minister, via media)Tamil X

Discussion frequency: Low–moderateStatus: ongoing (dengue); closed (Vandalur)

Location: IndiaTamil NaduChennai

Figures vs 25 Oct

25,481 cases and 10 deaths (UNCHANGED); no newer statewide figure found.

  • 1 Nov non-X: Health Minister Arunraj said dengue is “under control” in Tamil Nadu as the monsoon begins, and asked the public to prevent water stagnation. No figures were given. Dinamani (Tamil)
  • Chennai (X): the Corporation removed 41,484 kg of old tyres and discarded items; the post cites more than 3,000 cases in the city this year and 3,700 field workers. vaagaimedia
  • Vandalur: no further report after the zoo reopened on 25 Oct. Closed for lack of further reporting. The Hindu

Uncertainties

no state figure after 23 Oct was found; the Chennai figure of more than 3,000 is from an X post.

07 West Bengal dengue: statewide NEW at 12,889 cases and 15 deaths

Evidence typeMedia(state health department figures)Bengali X

Discussion frequency: ModerateStatus: ongoing

Location: IndiaWest Bengal (Murshidabad, Kolkata, North 24 Parganas, Howrah, South 24 Parganas, Malda most affected)

Figures vs 25 Oct

12,889 cases and 15 deaths to 24 Oct (NEW; last week’s >12,500 was X-only); 5,751 cases in 1–24 Oct (NEW, was >5,500 in 1–23 Oct); 290 in treatment.

  • Asianet News Bangla, 29 Oct non-X: the figures above, citing the health department; a high-level review meeting was held at Swasthya Bhavan with district magistrates, CMOHs and municipal commissioners. Asianet News Bangla

Uncertainties

no state dengue dashboard or bulletin was seen directly.

08 Urban dengue (Delhi, Pune, Uttar Pradesh) and Balaghat child deaths

Evidence typeMedia(MCD and PMC data; CMHO quoted)Hindi and Marathi/English X

Discussion frequency: ModerateStatus: ongoing

Location: IndiaDelhiMaharashtra (Pune)Uttar Pradesh (Lucknow, Muzaffarnagar)Madhya Pradesh (Balaghat, Birsa block)

Figures vs 25 Oct

Delhi 993 to 24 Oct (NEW, was 901), no deaths; Pune 2,413 cases (UNCHANGED) and 8 suspected deaths sent for audit (NEW, was 1); Balaghat official toll 32 (UNCHANGED).

  • Delhi, 27 Oct non-X: the MCD weekly report gives 92 dengue cases in the week to 24 Oct, 396 in October so far (above the 377 in all of October 2025), 337 malaria and 38 chikungunya cases this year, and no deaths. News18 (PTI)
  • Pune, 26 Oct non-X: after the 18 Oct death of a nine-year-old girl, PMC identified eight suspected dengue deaths between July and October and is referring them to the state death audit committee. Three patients were from outside the city. The audit is to determine whether dengue or an underlying condition was the cause. Hindustan Times · X: ThePuneMirror
  • Uttar Pradesh (Hindi X): 25 new dengue cases in Lucknow on 1 Nov; a school principal in Muzaffarnagar was reported in ICU with dengue. bstvlive · LokpathLive
  • Balaghat, 27 Oct non-X: three Baiga infants died in Birsa block (Matla, Khairtola, Sundarwahi villages). The Congress MLA Sanjay Uike puts the toll at 55; the official figure remains 32. CMHO Dr Shatrughan Singh Dahiya gave preliminary asphyxiation during breastfeeding as the cause, and the children’s ages are disputed. Times of India

Disagreement

Pune cases 2,413 (25 Oct issue, to 20 Oct) vs 2,291 (X, to 20 Oct) TheUrbanAcres. Balaghat toll 32 (official) vs 55 (MLA); last week one death was attributed to malaria, this week’s three provisionally to asphyxiation.

Uncertainties

Pune deaths remain “suspected” pending audit; Balaghat causes are preliminary.

09 India: scrub typhus — Rajasthan UNCHANGED; Odisha story closed

Evidence typeMediaHindi X

Discussion frequency: LowStatus: ongoing (Rajasthan); closed (Odisha)

Location: IndiaRajasthan (Jaipur)Odisha

Figures vs 25 Oct

Rajasthan 2,234 in nine months (UNCHANGED).

  • Rajasthan, 30 Oct (X): DD News Rajasthan reports 250 dengue and 450 scrub typhus cases amid a rise in seasonal illness, with SMS Hospital named. The period and area covered are not stated. DDNewsRajasthan
  • Kerala: the state sheet gives 609 scrub typhus cases and 13 deaths in 2026 (see Section 05).
  • Odisha: no new in-window report. Closed for lack of further reporting.

Uncertainties

the DD News figure of 450 cannot be reconciled with the statewide 2,234 without knowing its scope.

10 Nepal: scrub typhus national figure NEW at 11,643

Evidence typeOfficial(EDCD, via media)Nepali X

Discussion frequency: Low–moderateStatus: ongoing

Location: Nepal74 districts (Lumbini Province highest)

Figures vs 25 Oct

national 11,643 confirmed cases (NEW, was 10,210). National deaths were not given in the source seen.

  • EDCD, via Nepal Manch, 28 Oct non-X: Lumbini 3,276, Gandaki 2,217, Sudurpashchim 2,186, Bagmati 1,418, Koshi 1,257, Karnali 1,004 and Madhesh 285. Leading districts: Dang 687, Syangja 615, Salyan 550, Sankhuwasabha 505, Bajhang 480. Monthly: 2,577 in August, 2,990 in September and more than 1,500 in October. Nepal Manch (Nepali)
  • X, 27 Oct: 11,040 scrub typhus and 6,192 dengue infections, and 28 Japanese encephalitis deaths. NepalBolcha

Disagreement

national scrub typhus 11,040 (X, 27 Oct) vs 11,643 (EDCD via media, 28 Oct), probably different reporting dates. Salyan has 550 confirmed in the EDCD data vs 817 infections in the district figures reported last week.

Uncertainties

no EDCD document was opened directly.

11 Sri Lanka and Maldives: dengue NEW at 105,295 / 81

Evidence typeOfficial(NDCU, via media)Sinhala X

Discussion frequency: LowStatus: ongoing

Location: Sri Lanka (Western Province 54,783; Gampaha 22,094; Colombo 20,453)Maldives

Figures vs 25 Oct

dengue 105,295 cases and 81 deaths (NEW, was 104,094 / 79); 4,575 cases in October so far.

  • NDCU, via Virakesari non-X: the figures above; July had the most cases (29,964). Virakesari (Tamil)
  • Sinhala X, 27 Oct: the acting director of the dengue control programme, Dr Kapila Kannangara, said 50 of the 79 dengue deaths at that point were women. LankadeepaNews
  • Maldives: no newer measles update was found after last week’s report of no new cases (287 in 2026). UNCHANGED.

Uncertainties

the NDCU daily PDFs could not be reached directly this week.

12 AMR and stewardship: CRAB VAP regimens; carbapenemase detection in co-producers; MCR in South Asia

Evidence typePeer-reviewed(PubMed, entry dates in window)clinician X

Discussion frequency: Low on X

  • Indian J Med Microbiol (26 Oct): a prospective observational study at AIIMS Jodhpur compared meropenem-based with minocycline-based triple therapy for carbapenem-resistant A. baumannii VAP. Clinical recovery (54% vs 47%) and day-28 microbiological eradication (39% in both) were similar; ICU and hospital stays were shorter with the minocycline regimen. doi:10.1016/j.ijmmb.2026.101327
  • J Clin Microbiol: performance of mCIM/eCIM in Enterobacterales co-encoding NDM and OXA-48-like carbapenemases from South India (Amrita, CMC Vellore and Washington University authors). doi:10.1128/jcm.01063-26
  • Int J Antimicrob Agents (29 Oct): systematic review and meta-analysis of MCR-mediated colistin resistance across the One Health continuum in South Asia. 31 studies (34 data points; 7,407 isolates; 1,243 MCR-positive) from Pakistan, Bangladesh, Nepal and India gave a pooled prevalence of 14.7% (I² ≈ 97.8%), highest in Bangladesh (37.3%). doi:10.1016/j.ijantimicag.2026.108051
  • Open Forum Infect Dis: risk factors for colonisation with antibiotic-resistant bacteria among 768 community adults in Bangladesh (ARCH study). Public-tap water use was associated with ESCrE colonisation (aOR 11.24; 95% CI 1.28–98.6) and with MRSA colonisation. doi:10.1093/ofid/ofag651
  • Microorganisms: whole-genome sequencing of XDR Salmonella enterica serovar Typhi: resistome, virulome and phylogenomics. doi:10.3390/microorganisms14102225
  • Cureus: a multidisciplinary stewardship programme in an Indian ICU, time-series analysis of diagnostic practices and antibiotic use (Guntur and Chennai authors). doi:10.7759/cureus.117062
  • One Health and veterinary (in window):
  • Other (in window): Perspect Clin Res: irrational drug use in paediatric acute respiratory infections in South India doi:10.4103/picr.picr_225_25 · ScientificWorldJournal: quality of marketed cefixime brands in Bangladesh doi:10.1155/tswj/4894162 · J Clin Microbiol: genomic epidemiology review of Candidozyma (Candida) auris clades doi:10.1128/jcm.01106-26
  • medRxiv (posted 26 Oct; not peer-reviewed): carbapenem resistance among Gram-negative bacteria in bioaerosols at a biomedical waste disposal site in Ahmedabad. doi:10.64898/2026.10.22.26366283
  • X (clinician): an author shared a Lung India randomised feasibility trial of 7 versus 14 days of polymyxin-based therapy for CRAB VAP (paper not read). kiratkhangura29
  • X (Pakistan): a pharmacist questioned whether quality control of local antibiotics is keeping pace after multinational exits. saada_gul

Character

literature-led; clinician X engagement limited.

13 Other journal items (scrub typhus, AES, dengue, influenza, typhoid, Nipah)

Evidence typePeer-reviewed / preprint(indexed or posted in window)
  • World J Clin Pediatr: systematic review and meta-analysis of the causes of paediatric acute encephalitis syndrome in India (69 studies). Scrub typhus was the commonest identified cause (20%; 95% CI 13–27%), followed by JE (13%) and enterovirus (6%). doi:10.5409/wjcp.121910
  • Cureus: discordance between IgM serology and TSA-56 qPCR for scrub typhus in undifferentiated fever in Western Odisha (397 patients). Positivity was 16.8% by IgM ICT, 19.6% by IgM ELISA and 20.8% by qPCR (37/178 tested). doi:10.7759/cureus.117277
  • BMC Infect Dis: systematic review of pyrexia of unknown origin in South Asia: aetiology, diagnostic gaps and management. doi:10.1186/s12879-026-14121-9
  • BMC Infect Dis: azithromycin versus ceftriaxone for uncomplicated typhoid fever in children, meta-analysis of RCTs. doi:10.1186/s12879-026-14103-x
  • Int J Infect Dis: inactivated quadrivalent influenza vaccine in children and pregnant women in rural Bangladesh, a phase IV cluster-randomised trial. Adjusted VE was 77.4% in children during the B/Victoria wave of 2021; too few cases occurred in pregnant women for assessment. doi:10.1016/j.ijid.2026.109209
  • Int J Infect Dis: memory B-cell responses after single- versus two-dose oral cholera vaccine (Shanchol) in Bangladeshi adults. doi:10.1016/j.ijid.2026.109219
  • Dengue:
  • Nipah: Health Sci Rep: Nipah knowledge in rural Bangladesh doi:10.1002/hsr2.73429 · Rev Med Virol: review from Malaysia to recent Indian outbreaks doi:10.1002/rmv.70221 · Int J Biol Macromol: nanobodies against a conserved henipavirus G glycoprotein region doi:10.1016/j.ijbiomac.2026.155084
  • Immunisation and zoonoses: Vaccines (Basel): vaccine cold-chain performance across seven provinces and two seasons in Nepal doi:10.3390/vaccines14100837 · Front Vet Sci: sampling plan for 10 zoonotic and 4 transboundary animal diseases across India doi:10.3389/fvets.2026.1919244
  • medRxiv (posted in window; not peer-reviewed):
  • IJMR and JGID: no in-window PubMed entries.

14 NCDC/IDSP weekly outbreaks: still week 34

Evidence typeOfficial listing

Discussion frequency: Not discussed on X

  • The latest report is still week 34 (17–23 Aug). Week 35 has not been published, so the lag is now about ten weeks. UNCHANGED. Week 34 PDF · NCDC listing

15 Continuity: Kerala Nipah — no new case; expired-remdesivir allegation (NEW)

Evidence typeOfficial(Assembly reply, via media)mediaMalayalam and English X

Discussion frequency: Moderate (Malayalam)Status: watching; probe under way

Location: IndiaKerala (Kozhikode Government Medical College Hospital)

  • Assembly, 29 Oct non-X: Health Minister K. Muraleedharan said a medical board headed by the head of Infectious Diseases at Government Medical College Thiruvananthapuram will investigate whether expired remdesivir led to Nipah deaths, and whether other patients given the drug had side-effects.
    • KMSCL last bought remdesivir (3,000 vials) on 3 June 2021, with expiry on 30 May 2023. Kozhikode MCH used 102 vials in 2023–24, 34 in 2024–25, 10 in 2025–26 and 50 in 2026–27; the 2026–27 vials were brought from Bahrain. The concern is that stock used up to 2025 may have expired.
    • Nipah cases by year, per the minister: 2023, 6 cases (2 deaths); 2024, 2 (2 deaths); 2025, 3 (2 deaths); 2026, 1 (recovered).
    • The Hindu · X: janmat_bharat · xpresskeralam
  • Response, 30–31 Oct non-X: critical-care specialist Dr A S Anoop said none of the six patients who died received remdesivir from Kozhikode MCH. TNIE
  • Malayalam X: former health minister Veena George rejected the allegation and said the minister had misled the Assembly; a former Nipah nodal officer, Dr Chandni, also rejected the minister’s claim (headlines; videos not reviewed). bigtv24x7live · bigtv24x7live
  • X (regulatory status): one account notes remdesivir has no full approval for Nipah and was used under off-label or emergency protocols. trilobite_1970
  • Surveillance: the 31 Oct state sheet still records one Nipah case in 2026. The latest WHO DON for India Nipah remains DON609. Kerala DHS, 31 Oct PDF · WHO DON609

Disagreement

the minister’s yearly figures total 11 cases and 6 deaths for 2023–2025 (12 including 2026), while Dr Anoop refers to 13 positive cases between 2023 and 2025. The minister says expired drug was possibly given; Dr Anoop and the former minister say no patient who died received it.

Editorial caution

this is a political and administrative dispute under formal investigation. No finding on causation has been published, and the report draws no conclusion.

16 Regulation: BPaL patent application rejected (NEW); single-use device ban

Evidence typeOfficial decision(via media)X

Discussion frequency: Low–moderateStatus: new

Location: Indianational

  • BPaL patent, reported 28 Oct non-X: the Indian Patent Office rejected TB Alliance’s application covering the bedaquiline–pretomanid–linezolid combination for drug-resistant TB. Two pre-grant oppositions had been filed in 2020: one by Eldred Tellis (Sankalp Rehabilitation Trust) and Ganesh Acharya, supported by the Lawyers Collective and the MSF Access Campaign; the other by DNP+, supported by TWN. All four grounds, including Section 3(d), were upheld. Patents on the combination have been granted in 11 countries and expire in 2036. The Hindu · X: ieexplained
  • DGHS ban on reuse of single-use devices: no new order; the directive was still being shared on X. IndiaTaj82970
  • Hospital IPC drives (X, institutional): AIIMS Bathinda (Kayakalp peer assessment of ICU records on 28 Oct; new biomedical waste trolleys), AIIMS Patna (colour-coded cleaning), AIIMS Guwahati (sanitation awareness, 27 Oct) and AIIMS Kalyani (ward checks), all under Special Campaign 6.0. AiimsBathinda · AiimsBathinda · aiims_patna · AIIMS_Guwahati · AiimsKalyani
  • CDSCO: the alerts page was not reviewed this week.

Uncertainties

the date of the patent decision itself was not given in the article seen.

17 Other low-frequency items

  • Rabies (X): posts debated India’s share of global rabies deaths. One cites estimates of 5,700–20,000 deaths a year; another cites a Lok Sabha figure of 54 deaths in 2024–25. Kerala’s sheet records 17 rabies deaths in 2026. ForJustice_SIFF · Satyanveshi1526 · TalkPediatrics
  • Bangladesh dengue death of a young woman (X, political account): Safia Hasin Aroshi; her sisters also tested positive. jamiediaz9z
  • No dedicated signals found for Bhutan or for Afghanistan outside polio (see W2) and the CCHF preprint (Section 13).

World

Global ID items active in or relevant to 26 Oct–1 Nov 2026 (after the India/South Asia clusters).

W1DR Congo: Bundibugyo Ebola — cases NEW at 10,274; Nigeria case evacuated

Evidence typeOfficial(ECDC epidemiological update; WHO DON622 as the latest WHO DON); X for Nigeria
  • ECDC, 30 Oct (data to 28 Oct):
    • Totals: DR Congo has reported 10,274 confirmed cases and 4,992 deaths; 1,052 patients are in isolation and 2,766 have recovered. 87.2% of identified contacts are under follow-up. 67 of 178 health zones are affected across eight provinces.
    • Kenya: nine cases, including two deaths, as of 26 Oct.
    • Nigeria: the single confirmed case (imported from Uganda, confirmed 20 Oct) was medically evacuated to Switzerland on 26 Oct; 62 contacts are under follow-up.
    • Vaccine trial: the TUMAINI Phase 2/3 trial of vaccine candidates began in Bunia (Ituri) on 23 Oct.
    • ECDC update
  • WHO: no newer Disease Outbreak News after DON622 (23 Oct; 9,704 cases, 4,687 deaths to 20 Oct). WHO DON622
  • Nigeria (X, citing NCDC): suspected cases in Yola were isolated and sampled; the FCT case remains the only confirmed case. naijatrendng

W2Polio, Pakistan and Afghanistan

  • Pakistan: eighth WPV1 case of 2026 (see Section 03).
  • Afghanistan (X, citing Polio Free Afghanistan): a nationwide campaign starts on 2 Nov; 42 cases so far in 2026, the highest globally (UNCHANGED from GPEI to 21 Oct). KabulNow · GPEI

Conferences

Meetings of interest to India/South Asia clinical microbiology and ID, checked against the events digest of 31 Oct 2026 and organiser pages.

Upcoming

MeetingDatesPlaceNotes
Best of CIDSCON: The Final Chapter (CIDS-PG Education Subcommittee)Tue 3 Nov 2026, 20:00–21:00 IST (14:30–15:30 GMT)Format not statedTalks on community-acquired pneumonia (P Senthur Nambi), MBL/NDM infections in ICU (Parikshit Prayag) and antimicrobial dosing in the critically ill (Neha Gupta). Joining details not given. Events digest, 31 Oct
RAJMICROCON 2026 (5th IAMM Rajasthan Chapter conference)Workshops 20 Nov; conference 21–22 Nov 2026MGMCH, Sitapura, JaipurTheme “Diagnostics to Decision”. Late rate ended 31 Oct; spot registration at the venue ₹7,500 / ₹8,000 (faculty, member / non-member). Events digest, 31 Oct
MICROCON 2027 (22nd UP-UK Chapter of IAMM)5–6 Feb 2027B.R.D. Medical College, GorakhpurRegional chapter meeting. Early-bird registration to 15 Nov 2026; abstracts to 15 Jan 2027. Events digest, 31 Oct
HISICON 2026 (HISI)To be announcedTo be announcedListed by HISI without dates (unverified).

Recent (already held)

MeetingDatesPlaceNotes
MICROCON 2026 (49th Annual Congress of IAMM)28 Oct – 1 Nov 2026AIIMS NagpurTheme “Microbial Threats: Trace, Target, Treat”. An exhibitor listed 30 Oct – 1 Nov; the congress listing gives 28 Oct – 1 Nov (pre-conference workshop 28 Oct, inauguration 29 Oct). microcon2026.com · X: DSSImagetech · AerobiotixGBL
International Symposium: AMS and One Health (HISI)31 Oct 2026OnlineProgramme and time were listed as TBA. Events digest, 31 Oct
CIDSCON 2026 (Clinical Infectious Diseases Society)20–23 Aug 2026Mahatma Mandir, Gandhinagar, GujaratCIDS brochure PDF

No MICROCON 2026 session reports with scientific content were found on X in the window.

Signal detection

AWeak signals

  • Clade not stated for Karachi and KP mpox cases; three cases circumcised at the same Malir facility (route not confirmed).
  • Karachi District West “full of malaria cases” (single X post).
  • Bangladesh measles vaccine-quality claim (political X only).
  • Rajasthan scrub typhus 450 (scope unclear; DD News on X).
  • Lucknow dengue rise (25 cases in a day, Hindi X).

BPathogens

  • Measles virus — Bangladesh; Kerala (706 confirmed).
  • Dengue virus — Bangladesh (all four serotypes); West Bengal; Delhi; Pune; Lucknow; Tamil Nadu; Kerala; Rawalpindi; Nepal; Sri Lanka.
  • Mpox virus — Sindh (Karachi); Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.
  • WPV1 — Pakistan (Khyber); Afghanistan.
  • Orientia tsutsugamushi — Nepal (11,643); Rajasthan; Kerala; India AES (review); Western Odisha (diagnostics).
  • Nipah virus — Kerala (treatment dispute; no new case).
  • Free-living amoebae — Kerala (184 / 45, unchanged).
  • Carbapenem-resistant A. baumannii — Jodhpur (VAP regimens); Lung India duration trial.
  • Bundibugyo virus — DR Congo, Kenya, Nigeria.

CResistance mechanisms

  • NDM with OXA-48-like co-production and mCIM/eCIM interpretation (South India).
  • MCR-mediated colistin resistance across One Health sources, South Asia (pooled 14.7%).
  • XDR S. Typhi genomics.
  • V1016G kdr in Ae. aegypti (Nagapattinam).
  • Carbapenem-resistant Gram-negative bacteria in bioaerosols at a waste site (Ahmedabad; preprint).

DDiagnostics

  • Scrub typhus IgM vs TSA-56 qPCR discordance (Western Odisha).
  • mCIM/eCIM in carbapenemase co-producers.
  • No new diagnostic guidance from ICMR or NCDC was identified in the window.

EPapers and guidelines (in / near window)

  • IJMM: CRAB VAP triple-therapy comparison.
  • JCM: mCIM/eCIM in co-producers; C. auris clade review.
  • IJAA: MCR meta-analysis.
  • OFID: community colonisation in Bangladesh.
  • IJID: Bangladesh QIV effectiveness; OCV memory B cells.
  • WJCP: AES aetiology in India.
  • Regulatory: BPaL patent application rejected. No new ICMR/NCDC clinical guideline was identified.

FDisagreement

  • Kerala Nipah: 11 cases in 2023–2025 (minister) vs 13 (Dr Anoop); expired drug possibly given vs not given to those who died.
  • Bangladesh October dengue deaths (173 vs 174).
  • Nepal scrub typhus national figure (11,040 vs 11,643); Salyan (550 vs 817).
  • Pune dengue (2,413 vs 2,291).
  • Balaghat deaths (32 official vs 55 MLA) and cause (malaria vs asphyxiation).
  • Pakistan WPV1 count (eighth vs “seventh” on some X accounts).
  • MICROCON dates (28 Oct vs 30 Oct start).
  • India rabies deaths (Lok Sabha 54 vs estimates of 5,700–20,000).

GExperts ahead of media

  • An author shared a Lung India feasibility RCT on polymyxin duration for CRAB VAP; no media pickup was found.

HState and regional

RegionPrimary signalEvidenceKey link
KeralaMeasles 706; Nipah remdesivir probeOfficialmediaKerala DHS, 31 Oct PDF
West BengalDengue 12,889 / 15Media (state figures)Asianet News Bangla
DelhiDengue 993, October above 2025Media (MCD data)News18 (PTI)
MaharashtraPune eight suspected dengue deaths for auditMediaHindustan Times
Tamil NaduDengue “under control” (no figure)Official via mediaDinamani
Madhya PradeshThree Baiga infant deaths, Birsa (Balaghat)MediaTimes of India
Uttar PradeshLucknow dengueHindi Xbstvlive
RajasthanScrub typhus and dengue (scope unclear)X (DD News)DDNewsRajasthan
India (national)BPaL patent application rejectedOfficial decision via mediaThe Hindu
BangladeshMeasles 1,254 deaths; dengue 418 deathsOfficial via mediaBSS
PakistanEighth WPV1 case; Sindh mpox 115 / 12Official via mediaDawn
NepalScrub typhus 11,643Official via mediaNepal Manch
Sri LankaDengue 105,295 / 81Official via mediaVirakesari
MaldivesNo new source (287 measles cases in 2026, unchanged)NoneNone
Bhutan, AfghanistanNo dedicated South Asia signal (Afghanistan polio in W2; CCHF preprint in Section 13)XpreprintKabulNow

Overall ecosystem patterns

On X this week, news outlets, government departments and political accounts again outnumbered clinicians and microbiologists.

  • Dengue remained the commonest topic across Bengali, Hindi, Tamil, Urdu, Nepali and Sinhala streams.
  • The Kerala Nipah remdesivir dispute was the most discussed new India item, mainly in Malayalam and largely political in tone.
  • Pakistan mpox moved from literature to news, with coverage focused on cases linked to circumcision at a sealed private facility.
  • Bangladesh measles coverage was increasingly political (coverage figures, vaccine-quality claims) and reached international commentary. MichaelKugelman
  • Technically substantive material again came from journals with little X pickup; the exception was one author sharing a CRAB VAP trial.
  • Institutional IPC posts (AIIMS Special Campaign 6.0) were frequent but routine.
  • AI-generated replies were common and were not used as sources.

Topics increasing in frequency

  • Mpox in Pakistan (Sindh and KP).
  • Urban dengue in northern India (Delhi above 2025; Lucknow).
  • Scrub typhus in Nepal (national figure above 11,600).

Unusual, low-frequency or technically interesting

  • Possible use of expired remdesivir for Nipah (under investigation).
  • Bioaerosol carbapenem resistance at a waste site (preprint).
  • MCR prevalence across South Asian One Health sources.

Highly uncertain areas

  • Kerala Nipah treatment records; Karachi and KP mpox clade; Rajasthan scrub typhus scope; Pune suspected deaths; Balaghat causes of death; Tamil Nadu after 23 Oct.

Geographic clustering

  • Bangladesh: concurrent nationwide measles and dengue.
  • Pakistan: WPV1 in Khyber; mpox in Karachi and Peshawar.
  • Kerala: measles rise and the Nipah treatment dispute.
  • Northern and eastern India: dengue in Delhi, Lucknow and West Bengal.
  • Western Nepal (Lumbini, Gandaki, Sudurpashchim): scrub typhus.

Topics with minimal or absent discussion this window:

  • Hospital HAI clusters and Candida auris on X (literature only)
  • Cholera (literature only)
  • Mucormycosis (new clusters)
  • Avian influenza in South Asia after Vandalur
  • Bhutan

Method and sources not reached

  • X: 35 searches (33 post searches and 2 news searches; about 700 posts returned, 0 failures), covering 00:00 GMT on 26 Oct to 1 Nov. Languages: English, Hindi, Marathi, Bengali, Tamil, Malayalam, Urdu, Nepali, Telugu, Kannada, Odia and Sinhala. Read-only access was used, with no posting, liking or replying. AI-generated replies were not used as sources.
  • Non-X sources consulted:
    • Bangladesh: DGHS figures via BSS and the Dhaka Tribune; Reuters via ThePrint.
    • India: Kerala DHS daily sheets (30 and 31 Oct); The Hindu; TNIE; Times of India; Hindustan Times; News18 (PTI); Asianet News Bangla; Dinamani; the NCDC weekly outbreak listing.
    • Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka: Nepal Manch (EDCD data); Dawn and Zaviya; Virakesari (NDCU data).
    • Global and literature: ECDC; WHO DON listing; GPEI; PubMed (South Asia ID/AMR query plus IJMM, IJMR, JGID; entry dates 26 Oct–1 Nov); the medRxiv API (posted 26 Oct–1 Nov); the 31 Oct events digest and conference sites.
  • Not reached or incomplete this week:
    • NDCU (Sri Lanka) daily PDFs for 28–31 Oct timed out; figures came via media.
    • NCDC week 35 is not published.
    • The CDSCO alerts page was not reviewed.
    • No EDCD (Nepal) document was opened directly.
    • Afghanistan: no WHO EMR polio or CCHF data newer than 18 Oct was found.
    • IJMR and JGID had no in-window PubMed entries.
    • The Lung India CRAB VAP paper was not read.
    • No Tamil Nadu statewide figure after 23 Oct; no new Maldives source.
    • Kerala sheets for 17–25 Oct were not retrieved.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *